Harry Man with his debutant book “Lift” is this year’s winner of the “Bridges of Struga” award of the “Struga Poetry Evenings”.

Harry Man was born in Buckinghamshire in 1982 and is an award-winning poet and digital editor working in publishing in London. He has worked with some of Britain’s bestselling and most widely-recognised literary authors and estates as a fiction and science fiction desk editor, a programmer and a digital publisher. He holds an MA in Creative Writing from Bath Spa University. In 2005 he won BBC3’s You Heard it Here First. In 2012, as well as being longlisted for the Melita Hume prize, he won third prize in the Cardiff International Poetry Competition and in 2013 he earned second place in PEN International’s Made-Up-Words competition.

His writing concerns the scientific and the personal, skipping between the seeming sense of customer service chatbots and the history of the Earth as told through its online presence, from to love-sick time machine pilots and the brains of nightingales, to intimate stories drawn from the birth of American spaceflight.

Harry Man’s poetry has appeared in New Welsh Review, Fuselit, Poems in the Waiting Room, Eyewear Poetry Focus, Poetry Digest, Popshot Magazine, ditch, Elbow Room, And Other Poems, The Morning Star, Poems in Which and Astronaut among other places. He is also a member of Malika Booker’s Poetry Kitchen.Harry also narrates children’s books for HarperAudio and was selected to be the voice of many of Michael Morpurgo’s children’s books.

Harry Man’s first book of poems, Lift (2013) is published by Tall Lighthouse.

Prizes & Awards

Second Place – Made Up Words – PEN International 2013
Third Prize Cardiff International Poetry Competition 2012
Longlisted for the Melita Hume 2012
Longlisted for the Bridport Poetry Prize 2006
BBC3 You Heard it Here First 2005
Philip Lawrence Award 1998 & 1999

Previous winners of this award include Angelo V. Suarez (Philippines), Andrea Cote (Colombia), Marianna Geide (Russia), Manua Rima (Belgium), Antonija Novaković (Croatia), Ousmane Sar Sarrouss (Senegal), Sim Kera (Estonia), Hiroshi Taniuchi (Japan) and François-Xavier Megre (France) and Nikolina Andova (Macedonia)